This blog has moved to www.thaemertphotography.com/blog

Please view these and new updated posts here!

Thunderstorms can’t stop this Family Portrait! {Wentzville Family Photographer}

The blog has moved to the new studio website.  Please view this post and many more here: Wentzville Family Photographer |K Thaemert Photography St Charles

Back in late winter, I was asked to donate to the Immanuel, Lutheran School auction in Wentzville, Missouri.  I was happy to help their school and church with my donation of an outdoor family session, a beautiful frame and portrait credit (so the family can fill the frame)!   I often wait months before hearing from auction winners.  Well as it turns out, they are long-time friends of my husband’s family.  I was thrilled to find out they won the auction!

I think they first contacted me during one of our crazy winter snowstorms.  Now that it’s blazing hot and mid-summer, it’s hard to remember back to those cold snowy days.  We photographed this session on a day when the St. Louis area was under severe weather alerts and experiencing crazy thunderstorms.  Thankfully, the rain held out until after I left.  Later on that evening (after my next photography assignment), the heavens opened up and everyone ran indoors for cover.

Photography family session on-location by Wentzville Family Photographer

Outdoor portraits of family by by Wentzville Family Photographer, St. Charles

Ok, this next one is just a crazy out-take.  I thought the kids would giggle when they saw it.

Kids being silly for family photos at their home by Wentzville Family Photographer

Mom and Dad photo by Wentzville Family Photographer, St Charles

I love this shot of just the girls!

Photo of Mom with the girls, Wentzville family photographer

And not to be outdone… Here’s one of just the guys.

The guys posing at the outdoor photography session by Wentzville Family Photographer

I like to take some solo portraits of each of the kids.  I love, love, love the laugh of this young man!  He told me afterwards when I was about to drive to the next engagement that he didn’t get to pose exactly how he wanted to.  I hope he forgives me for missing his cue.  I think he was having a good time anyway.

Young boy laughing photo by Wentzville Family Photographer, K Thaemert from St. Charles, MO

And now his handsome big brother…

Wentzville family photographer photographs a young boy

Little sister gets her turn in front of the yellow flowers!

Wentzville family photographer and young girl photo

And last, but certainly not least, big sister gets a turn.

Teen photo of girl by Wentzville Family Photographer

I love photographing outdoors at any time of the year, but there’s just something about summer evenings that make me smile.  I hope these images made you smile too.

We are scheduling outdoor family portrait sessions through the fall.  (Yes, there are already fall sessions on my calendar).  If you want portraits of your family, call the studio today to set up the appointment.  The office line is 636-947-5956.  Want to get a head-start on your Christmas cards?  I can design a family photo card from your session images too!

Thanks for visiting.

Karen Thaemert, CPP

St. Charles, MO Wentzville Family Photographer

4 responses to “Thunderstorms can’t stop this Family Portrait! {Wentzville Family Photographer}

  1. Westerville Family Photographer | Danielle Neil July 19, 2011 at 8:46 pm

    Great job with their portraits. Glad to see the weather held out for you!

  2. laura stoddard July 20, 2011 at 3:36 am

    Great family portraits. They look like they were having fun at their session with you!

  3. capturesbyerinErin July 22, 2011 at 1:14 pm

    What a great family session. The kids are so cute!

  4. Tina Nitz - Jacksonville baby photographer July 25, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Wonderful images and a great family session. That outtake is hilarious!!!!

Leave a Reply

